Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Sunday, December 15, 2013

The UAAP/NCAA College Basketball Awards

Last Sunday, December 15, the UAAP and NCAA Press Coprs held its annual College Basketball Dinner-Awards Night at the Saisaki-Kamayan sa EDSA.

Awards were handed out to the following:
UAAP Coach of the Year - Juno Sauler (DLSU)
NCAA Coach of the Year - Boyet Fernandez (SBC)
Smart Player of the Year - Jeron Teng (DLSU)
Collegiate Mythical Five Team - Terrence Romeo (FEU), Ray Parks (NU), Jeron Teng (DLSU) Raymond Almazan (CSJL), and Ola Adeogun (SBC)
UAAP Pivotal Player - Arnold Van Opstal (DLSU)
NCAA Pivotal Player - Art dela Cruz (SBC)
UAAP Impact Player - Jason Perkins (DLSU)
NCAA Impact Player - Baser Amer (SBC)
Super Senior Awards - RR Garcia (FEU), Jeric Teng (UST), and Rome dela Rosa (SBC)

Sponsors for the event included Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI, Gatorade, Meralco, Talk 'N Text, Filoil Flying V

No comments:

Post a Comment