Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Thursday, June 13, 2013

The 2013 Filoil Flying V Hanes Premier Cup Awards

UE's Roi Sumang was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Here are the awardees for the 2013 Filoil Flying V Hanes Premier Cup


Roi Sumang (UE) - Master Most Valuable Player

Roi Sumang (UE), Ray Parks and Alfred Aroga (NU), Kiefer Ravena (Ateneo), and Rodney Brondial (Adamson) - Gatorade Mythical Five

Alfred Aroga (NU) - Gatorade Defensive Player


Ara Abaca (DLSU) - Most Valuable Player

Ara Abaca (DLSU), Lore Rivera (UST), Shaddy Ogunsemuyen (CEU), and Camille Sambile and Vangie Soriano (FEU) - Gatorade Mythical Five

Shaddy Ogunsemuyen (CEU) - Gatorade Defensive Player


Javee Mocon (San Beda) - Master Most Valuable Player

Javee Mocon (San Beda), Ranzel Young and Michael Calisaan (San Sebastian), Mark Dyke (NU), and Gerdy Alacre (Letran) - Gatorade Mythical Five

Ranzel Young (San Sebastian) - Gatorade Defensive Player

Here are my choices for the "All-Star Teams" of both groups:

Group A
Alfred Aroga (National University) - center
Ola Adeogun (San Beda College) - center
Ingrid Sewa (Adamson University) - center
Rodney Brondial (Adamson University) - forward 
Troy Rosario (National University) - forward
James Forrester (Arellano University) - forward
Ray Parks (National University) - forward
Raul Soyud - (University of the Philippines) - forward
Rome dela Rosa (San Beda College) - forward
Mark Romero (College of Saint Benilde) - forward
Jericho Cruz (Adamson University) - guard
RR Garcia (Far Eastern University) - guard
Terrence Romeo (Far Eastern University) guard
Baser Amer (San Beda College) - guard
John Pinto (Arellano University) - guard
Paolo Pontejos (Jose Rizal University) - guard

Coach: Eric Altamirano

Group B 
Charles Mammie (University of the East) - center 
Arnold Van Opstal (De La Salle University) - center
Raymond Almazan (Colegio de San Juan de Letran) - center
Chris Newsome (Ateneo de Manila University) - forward
Jason Perkins (De La Salle University) - forward
Landry Sanjo (Southwestern University) - forward
Nosa Omorogbe (University of Perpetual Help System Dalta) - forward
Aljon Mariano (University of Santo Tomas) - forward
Kevin Ferrer (University of Santo Tomas) - forward
Ralf Olivarez (University of Santo Tomas) - forward
CJ Perez (San Sebastian College-Recoletos) - guard
Jeric Teng (University of Santo Tomas) - guard
Juneric Baloria (University of Perpetual Help System Dalta) - guard
Kiefer Ravena (Ateneo de Manila University) - guard
Roi Sumang (University of the East) - guard
Mark Cruz (Colegio de San Juan de Letran) - guard

Coach: Boycie Zamar

No comments:

Post a Comment