Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Kaya kicks off Smart Club Championship with a 5-0 win

This appears in the Friday, January 11, 2013 edition of the Business Mirror.

Kaya kicks off Smart Club Championship with a 5-0 win
by rick olivares pic from kaya twitter

Kaya kicked off the Smart Club Championships with a 5-0 thrashing of overmatched M’Lang Football Club at the South Cotobato Sports Complex at Koronodal, South Cotobato last Wednesday, January 9.

Former Azkals player Nate Burkey opened the scoring when he collected a cross by strike mate Eric Dagroh that he booted past the M'Lang keeper in the second minute. Just when it seemed that M’Lang had settled down, Dagroh was brought down inside the box for a penalty. Burkey converted the spot kick to double Kaya’s lead.

Three minutes later, national player Chris Greatwich, making his debut in Philippine club football, finished off a cross by Eddie Mallari to make it 3-0 for Kaya; a lead they nursed all the way to the halftime break.

Guamanian midfielder Jonah Romero had an opportunity to add to Kaya’s lead but his penalty shot was saved. Then midfielder Dario Dakic finally made good on that promise to make it 4-0 for Kaya.

The ignominious day for the hometown squad ended with an own goal by defender Daryll Bantayan in the 85th minute to close out the scoring a Kaya’s 5-0 triumph in the second staging of the Smart Club Championships.

In the initial edition of the nationwide club football championships, current UFL league champions, Global, then competing as Teknika, came away with the title after a 3-2 aggregate win.

Sixteen teams from all over the country are competing in this year’s Smart Club Championships where every match is a knockout affair.

Jan. 09 3:00pm
South Cotabato Sports Complex, Koronadal City
A4 M’lang FC  vs  B4 Kaya FC

Jan. 12 3:00pm
Aboitiz Football Field, Cebu City
A2 Cebu Queen City United FC vs B2 Pachanga FC

Jan. 12 4:00pm
Rizal Memorial Football Stadium, Manila
A5 Flame United FC  vs  B5 Loyola FC

Jan. 12 3:00pm
Benguet State University, La Trinidad Benguet
A6 Baguio United FC  vs  B6 Gen. Trias Int’l FC

Jan. 12 3:00pm
Jose Rizal Memorial State Univ. Football Field,Dapitan City
A7 Romgarjal FC  vs  B7 Green Archers United FC

Jan. 13 3:00pm
Panaad Football Stadium, Bacolod City
A1 Ceres FC   vs   B1 Stallion FC

Jan. 13 4:00pm
Rizal Memorial Football Stadium, Manila
A3 Pasargad FC   vs   B3 Phil. Army FC

Jan. 13 6:30pm
Rizal Memorial Football Stadium, Manila
A8 Nomads FC  vs  B8 Global FC

The quarterfinals will be played from January 19-20, the semis on January 26 while the finals will be on February 2. All matches from the quarterfinals all the way to the ultimate playing day will be held also at the RMFS.

1 comment: