Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Ateneo and La Salle players team up for Flying V Davao Thunders

This appears in

It’s blue and green for the Flying V Davao Thunders
by rick olivares

The UAAP Season is still a good two months away so any Ateneo-La Salle basketball tiff will have to wait until then. Or not?

The Flying V Davao Thunders, the newest team in the Country Wide Basketball League will have a noticeable blue and green mix with past players from both schools playing together under veteran head coach Aric Del Rosario. The multi-titled coach whose last stint was with the Perpetual Help Altas from 2013-15, will count Bennett Palad, Lester Del Rosario, Cris Bautista, and Bert dela Rosa in his staff. Veteran coach Virgil Villavicencio will serve as team consultant.

Players vying for slots on the team include former Ateneo Blue Eagles Raymond Austria, Mikey Cabahug, Gwyne Capacio, and Eric Salamat; and former La Salle Green Archers Junjun Cabatu, Joseph Marata, James Mangahas, Jovet Mendoza, Gab Reyes, Martin Reyes, and Oda Tampus. Former College of Saint Benilde star Sunday Salvacion is also attending practice. Also signifying interest to try out were former Ateneo Bue Eaglet and St. Benilde Blazer Luis Sinco, Yutien Andrada, Kiefer Ravena, and Von Pessumal. 

A home and away format will be played at Bogo, Bulacan, Davao, Cebu, General Santos City, and Laguna. According to team manager Joey Guillermo, there is a possibility that some matches will be played at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Other teams participating in the tournament are Team Pacquiao Gen San, M. Lhuillier Cebu, Landmaster Bogo, Mighty Sports Bulacan, and Anak ng Laguna.

No comments:

Post a Comment