Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Tuesday, May 24, 2016

16 teams vie for Beach Volleyball Republic National Championship

This appears on

16 teams vie for Beach Volleyball Republic National Championship
by rick olivares

After four months of competition. Seven legs over seven cities around the archipelago. And dozens and dozens of participants, the Beach Volleyball Republic National Finals is coming to its exciting conclusion with 16 duos vying for the title of the Queens of the Sand and P100,000 richer. The BVR National Championship will be played at the Sands, SM by the Bay. 

During a press conference at Lola’s Cafe in the South Triangle area of Quezon City, BVR founders and former Ateneo Lady Eagles Bea Tan, Charo Soriano, and Angeline Gervacio along with Ateneo volleyball team manager Tonyboy Liao conducted a draw to determine the groupings that will compete for the national championship.

Outside the former Lady Eagles in the competition, the familiar names among the 16 teams include Philippine Air Force’s Judy Caballejo and Anna Camille Abanto, Isa Molde and Diana Carlos from the University of the Philippines, and Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza of Far East University. 

“They add a lot of star power to the competition,” noted a visibly pleased Tan who has received massive support from the local volleyball community.”

According to Gervacio, they were surprised at the turnout of both participants and viewers over the course of the seven legs. “Especially in Bayawan City in Negros Oriental, it was amazing. We’ve seen indoor volleyball packed with big crowds. Slowly but surely, we’re seeing pretty good turnouts in beach volleyball. It’s a good start.”

The cities that were visited during the seven legs include Ilocos Sur, La Union, Cagayan, Negros Occidental, Pampanga, Aklas, and Negros Oriental with many of the different city's native daughters participating in the competition.

“These are the best of the best so expect every set to be hotly contested,” pointed out Soriano. 

“Even the teams from the provinces will be in the hunt for the championship,” said Tonyboy Liao, BVR tournament director. “You cannot take them lightly.”

Group A:
  1. Alexa Micek and Charo Soriano
  2. Jennifer Cosas and Floremel Rodriguez 
  3. Nieza Viray and Jeziela Viray
  4. Ivee Ilao and Tatiana Sablan

Group B:
  1. Judy Ann Caballejo and Anna Camille Abanto
  2. DM Demontaño and Jackielyn Estoquia
  3. Rhea Fermilan and Javen Sabas
  4. Therese Ramas and Janelle Cabahug

Group C:
  1. Jonafer San Pedra and Jessa Aranda
  2. Bea Tan and Fiola Ceballos
  3. Cherrilyn Sindayan and Rainne Fabay
  4. Lourdilyn Catubag
  5. Karen Quilario

Group D: 
  1. Angeline Gervacio and Michelle Morente
  2. Apple Saraum and Jusabelle Brillo
  3. Isa Molde and Diana Carlos
  4. Bernadeth Pons and Kyla Atienza 

Admission to the BVR National Championship is free. The matches begin at 8am.

No comments:

Post a Comment