Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

On that Messi penalty assist to Suarez versus Celta Vigo....

On that Messi passed up penalty versus Celta Vigo....

If it is within the rules then it is legal. 

A feint is allowed to confuse a goalkeeper. It is disallowed by the referee if it is considered an act of unsporting behaviour. 

On the other hand, I thought it was more trickery than entertainment as Luis Enrique defended the play. But again, if it is within the rules then it’s all right. I don’t have to like it. 

But that begs the question, if Messi wanted to let Suarez have the goal then he should have given him the penalty. A penalty is a shot between a kicker and a goal keeper. He didn’t kick the ball. He tapped it to a teammate to take the shot. This wasn't a free kick. It isn't a penalty shot; IT IS A PLAY. 

Even if Johan Cruyff and Thierry Henry pulled the stunt before that doesn’t mean it’s all right. Maybe FIFA should look into that and correct that rule. It is disrespectful and puts the goalkeeper in a disadvantageous position.

I would have thought more from a team that says they are more than a club.

No comments:

Post a Comment