Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Kaya holds draft for second Kaya Reunion Match

At the press con for the Kaya Reunion Match: Justin Tolentino, team manager; David Perkovic, current head coach; Rudy Del Rosario, founder Kaya FC; Chris Hagedorn, founder and Kaya Board Member; Paul Tolentino, team manager.
This appears on

Kaya holds draft for second Reunion Match
report and pics by rick olivares

Kaya FC held a press conference for the second Kaya Reunion Match at Skinny Mike’s Sports Bar at the Bonifacio Global City this afternoon.

This year’s match that will be held this coming Saturday, August 31, at 6pm at the Emperador Stadium at McKinley Hill, will have a new twist to the lineups.

In the first reunion match, the current Kaya squad went up against its alumni team and the results weren’t pretty as the 2012-13 team romped away to an 8-0 win. Over 50 Kaya alumni showed up for that match.
“To make it more balanced and exciting,” said team manager Justin Tolentino, “We held a draft where the two teams – one coached by (founders) Rudy Del Rosario, Mikee Carrion, and Chris Hagedorn and the other by current coach David Perkovic – will have a mix of players from the new squad, alumni, and the youth teams (U-19). That way, it brings the whole Kaya family together.”

Also taking part in the exhibition match are the club’s new signings Danilo De Jong, younger brother of Global and national player Jason, who plays attacking midfielder; Fil-Dutch left back Andrew Liauw; Argentinean defensive midfielder Mati Alvarez; Australian center back Scott Baginski; and forwards Jovin Bedic and Emmanuel Mbata who played for Stallion and Pasargad last season.

Both teams will be playing three periods of 30 minutes each. The winner of each period will be awarded points that will count towards the total. A trophy will be awarded to the winning team.

Team 1: Rudy Del Rosario/Mikee Carrion/Chris Hagedorn
Anton Del Rosario
Alvin Ocampo
Mark Winhoffer
OJ Porteria
Nico Bolzico
Arama Reagan
Eddie Mallari
Kross Ubiam
Josh Miller
Scott Baginski
Mich Severino
Christian Zubiri
Kenshiro Daniels
Francisco Plaza
Ames Legarda
Saba Garmaroudi
Paolo Misa
Dan O’Reilly
Mati Alvarez
Antonio Raffles
Toshi Hosoe
Mikel Maniquis
Carlo Liay
Ramon Bonoan

Team 2: David Perkovic/Justin Tolentino/Raffy Herrera
Chris Greatwich
Marco Casambre
Masa Omura
Paul Tolentino
Iñigo Herrera
Emmanuel Mbata
Evan Santos
Rafael Plaza
Danilo de Jong
Gil Talavera
Johnny McArtor
Fabian Lewis
Kale Alvarez
Enzo Jalandoni
Woody Ugarte
Panky Abijay
Nicolas Cruz
Nick O'Donnell
Mari Javier
Joey Arenas
Janrick Soriano
Joel Dabao
Luis Sumera
Andrew Liauw
Enrique Posas

Perkovic, who came in the first month of the league season, expressed excitement about being a part of this "Reunion Match". "It is nice to see how huge the Kaya family is," he said. "To be able to add to its legacy is a big honor for me."
The Australian coach also added that Kaya isn’t done with the tinkering of its squad but he expressed excitement over the new season.



With the new signings of Kaya: Andrew Liauw, Jovin Bedic, Justin Tolentino, Emmanuel Mbata, David Perkovic, Mati Alvarez, Scott Baginski, Danilo De Jong, Rudy Del Rosario, Chris Hagedorn, and Paul Tolentino.


Read about last year's Kaya Reunion Match 

The first ever Kaya Reunion Match: The Ephemeral Vibe

I broached the idea of the reunion match to Kaya owner Santi Araneta last year and he liked it immediately. From there, I sat down with Ramon Araneta, Chris Hagedorn, and Rudy del Rosario to make it happen. Why do a Kaya Reunion Match? I was a fan of Kaya back in the 1990s. It was a thrill as a fan to be able to organize this. When it finally all came together last year at the BGC Turf, it was one of the best things I am most proud of. Thanks once more to Santi Araneta, Paul & Justin Tolentino, Raffy Herrera, and Rudy del Rosario for making this happen.

No comments:

Post a Comment