Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

SBC Red Cubs win 4th straight Filoil Juniors title

SBC Red Cubs win 4th straight Filoil Juniors title
by rick olivares

The San Beda Cubs overcame a meltdown to pip the National University Bullpups, 64-60, for their fourth consecutive Juniors championship in the Filoil Flying V Hanes Premier Cup at the San Juan Arena.

After leading by as much as 18 points late in the third period, NU launched a scorching comeback behind forward-center Frank Dyke and point guard Hubert Cani.

At the 2:50 mark of the third period and San Beda up by 14, 45-31, the power playing Dyke led the comeback by stringing up 10 points in a 19-3 run that saw NU take the lead for the first time at 50-48.

With SBC in disarray, NU took a 55-49 lead after Cani hit a step back three over Franz Abuda.

But Cani missed three shots, one free throw and committed two errors in the final four minutes while Javee Mocon heated up for 10 points of his own in a fiery Red Cubs 15-5 windup.

The title is San Beda’s fourth consecutive in the tournament after UE won the inaugural juniors championship and the first for new Red Cubs coach JB Sison.

Ranbill Tongco topscored for San Beda with 15 points while Mocon added 14 points and 10 rebounds.

NU forward-center Mark Dyke scored 17 points and pulled down 19 huge rebounds outplaying the celebrated Arvin Tolentino in the post.

Mocon likewise repeated as Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Joining Mocon in the Gatorade Mythical Five are San Sebastian’s Ranzel Yong and Michael Calisaan, NU’s Dyke, and Letran’s Gerdy Alacre. Yong was also adjudged the Gatorade Best Defensive Player.

No comments:

Post a Comment