Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Sunday, March 3, 2013

Letran’s Nambatac wins MVP honors in the Seaoil NBTC HS All-Star Game

Letran Squires swingman Rey Nambatac wins MVP honors in the second Seaoil NBTC HS All-Star Game. 

Letran’s Nambatac wins MVP honors in the Seaoil NBTC HS All-Star Game
by rick olivares

Letran Squires shooting guard Rey Nambatac led the All-Star Light team to a 92-78 rout of its All-Star Dark counterparts in the 2013 Seaoil National Basketball Training Center All-Star Game at the Ynares Sports Center in Pasig City last Sunday, March 3, 2013.

Nambatac, the Squires quicksilver-like swingman tallied 23 points, 6 rebounds, 6 assists, and 5 steals en route to Most Valuable Player honors in the official grassroots program and secondary education national tournament of the Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas.

The All-Star showcase ended the way it began with a rout.

The All-Star White Team busted out of the gates with a 16-4 lead behind San Beda Red Cub point guard Axel Iñigo and National University Bullpups forward Reggie Morido.

When All-Star Dark Team head coach Michael Oliver of UAAP Juniors Champion FEU-FERN inserted his second and third stringers – forwards Mario Bonleon (La Salle Greenhills), Jeric Diego (Mapua), Jeric Adorio (Sun Yat Sen High School in Iloilo), and guards Jefher John Egan (St. Mary’s School of Cagayan de Oro) and Ricky Peromingan (Bukidnon Faith Christian School), the lead shrunk to one, 32-31 with time down to 4:15 in the second period.

But when Oliver reinserted his starters – guards Jerie Pingoy (FEU-FERN) and Kyles Lao (Xavier), forwards Raph Atangan (NU) and Bong Quinto (Letran) and center Jon Macasaet (San Sebastian College-Recoletos) – to match up with the All-Star Light Team starting unit of Iñigo, Nambatac, Ralph Busa (NU), Morido, and Andre Paras (LSGH), the lead ballooned again, 44-35, at the end of two quarters.

In the third period, with the Dark Team’s bench on the court once again, they retook the lead, 69-61 after a Peromingan layup on two defenders with 9:20 left to play in the game.

Just when it seemed that the All-Star Light Team of head coach Britt Reroma (of NCAA Juniors champion San Beda Red Cubs) was on the ropes, Oliver sent back his starting five that simply couldn’t match up in terms of firepower.

With the coaches and scouts from Adamson, Ateneo, FEU, La Salle, Letran, NU, San Beda, UP, and UST looking on, Nambatac erupted for 12 points on drives, pull-up jumpers, and free throws in an electric eight-minute span. And for good measure, he assisted on two other plays.

Nambatac completed his All-Star masterpiece with a dish to a cutting Kimlee Bayquin of Chiang Kai Shek High School for an imposing 90-76 lead with a little over a minute left to play.

Bayquin added another two points on a drive to settle the final score at 92-78.

Iñigo and Morido added 15 points each to their team’s win that was also the second triumph for Reroma in Seaoil NBTC High School All-Star Game. In the first staging of the late season classic that is patterned after the McDonald’s All-American tournament, the SBC juniors coach’s light team was powered to an 87-81 victory by Mapua’s Ace Basas.

Mario Bonleon led the All-Star Dark Team with 16 points while Jerie Pingoy added 11 markers of his own.

All-Star Light
Andre Paras (LSGH), Reggie Morido (NU), Edralin Villanueva (Hope Christian HS), Clint Doliguez (Hope Christian HS), Ralph Busa (NU), Jeson Delfinado (FEU), Axel Iñigo (San Beda), Rey Nambatac (Letran), Kimlee Bayquin (Chiang Kai Shek), Carlo Young (Chiang Kai Shek), Wilson Bartolome (Chiang Kai Shek), Andres Desederio (University of Visayas), Yozi Manguilimotan (West Negros University-Bacolod), and Raymond Andico (Southern City College-Zamboanga).
Coach: Britt Reroma (San Beda)

All-Star Dark
Raphael Atanagan (NU), Mario Bonleon (LSGH), Roger Domingo Jr. (FEU), Neil Agustin (Southern City College-Zamboanga), Bong Quinto (Letran), Jerie Pingoy (FEU), Jeric Diego (Mapua), Alwin John Margallo (Adamson), Jon Macasaet (San Sebastian), Kyles Lao (Xavier), Levi dela Cruz Jr. (NU), Jefher John Egan (St. Mary’s School-CDO), Arc Gabriel Araw-Araw (SHS-Ateneo de Cebu), Jeric Adorio (Sun Yat Sen-Iloilo), and Ricky Peromingan (Bukidnon Faith Christian School).
Coach: Michael Oliver (FEU)


1 comment: