Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Thursday, January 3, 2013

SBC, Hope, NU & UST lead 30th SeaOil MMBL

SBC, Hope, NU & UST lead 30th SeaOil MMBL

After over a month of play, the 30th SeaOil Metro Manila Basketball League, the largest and longest running high school tournament in the country, will go into the second half of play with some familiar names on top of their respective divisions.

NCAA Champions San Beda Red Cubs are on top of Division 1-A with an unblemished 6-0 record while UAAP Champion, FEU-FERN, is at second with a 5-2 slate.

Division 1-B has the retooled Hope Christian High School tied at the top with this year’s UAAP first runner-up, National University, with identical 4-1 records.

San Beda High School’s Team B is lording it over Division II-A with a 7-0 record after they piped NU’s Team B for a 6-1 record.

The University of Santo Tomas’ Team B is on top of Division 2-B with a 6-0 record.

College of San Benildo-Rizal is leading Division III-A with a 7-0 record while San Beda College Alabang-A’s is ruling Division III-B with a similar 7-0 record.

In Division IV-A, NU’s Team C has a 6-0 record while Xavier Team B is on top of Division IV-B with a 6-0 record.

In the girls division, Chang Kai Shek is unbeaten at 7-0 while De La Salle Zobel is 5-1.

The 30th SeaoIl MMBL games resume this January with matches at San Beda College in Mendiola, Manila; International School-Manila; St. Stephen’s High School; and the Philsports Arena.

The standings as of January 3, 2013:

Division 1-A
San Beda College-A 6-0
Far Eastern University-FERN A 5-2
Chiang Kai Shek College-A 4-3
Colegio San Juan de Letran 3-2
De La Salle Zobel-A 3-2
Our Lady of Fatima University 1-3
University of Santo Tomas A 1-3-1
Adamson University 0-7

Division 1-B
Hope Christian High School 4-1
National University 4-1
Xavier-A 3-1
Ateneo High School 2-2
San Sebastian College Recoletos 2-3
Malayan Institute of Technology 1-4
University of the Philippines Integrated School 0-4

Division II-A
San Beda College-B 7-0
National University-B 6-1
Faith Academy-A 3-2
De La Salle Zobel-B 3-4
Far Eastern University-FERN B 2-4
Arellano University1-2-1
Chiang Kai Shek College-B 1-4
Uno High School 0-5

Division II-B
University of Santo Tomas-B 6-0
Xavier-B 3-1
San Sebastian College Recoletos-B 3-2
Emilio Aguinaldo College 2-2
St. Stephen’s High School-A 2-3-1
International School Manila-A 2-3
Kings Montessori School 0-6

Division III-A
College of San Benildo-Rizal 7-0
San Beda College-C 5-1
Escuela de Sofia of Caloocan 4-1
Rich 4-2
St. Jude Catholic School 2-4-1
Trinity University of Asia 1-4
Southridge School-A 1-5
Gymnazo Christian School 0-6

Division III-B
San Beda College Alabang-A 7-0
Colegio de San Agustin-BiƱan 4-1
Reedley International School 4-2
Lourdes School of Mandaluyong 3-2
St. Andrew’s School 3-3
International School Manila-B 2-4
Southridge School-B 0-3-2
Australian International School 0-6

Division IV-A
National University-C 7-0
ESPS 5-1
Chiang Kai Shek College-S 4-2
SNCA-B 4-2
La Consolacion College-Manila 3-4
Southridge School-C 2-5
Dominican College Sta. Rosa 1-4-1
St. Stephen’s High School-B 0-7

Division IV-B
Xavier School 6-0
La Salle College-Antipolo 5-1
San Beda College-D 5-1
St. James Academy 4-2
The Seed Montessori School 2-4
Faith Academy B 2-5
Our Lady’s Angels School 0-6
Quezon City Science High School 0-5

Chiang Kai Shek College- 7-0
De La Salle Zobel 5-1
La Salle College-Antipolo 4-2
Uno High School 3-3
Faith Academy 2-4
Casimiro Ynares Memorial School 1-3
St. Jude Catholic School 1-6
Hope Christian High School 0-4

No comments:

Post a Comment