Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Thursday, February 23, 2012

Azkals pep rally on Friday, Feb 24; Lineup for match vs Malaysia

Azkals pep rally on Friday

The Philippine Men’s National Football Team  faces it first real serious test before the AFC Challenge Cup Group Stages in Nepal this March when they take on Malaysia, the reigning Suzuki Cup champions, this coming Wednesday, February 29, 2012 at the Rizal Memorial Football Stadium.

To drum up support for the national squad for the international friendly match, there will be a pep rally held at the SM Megamall Building A activity center (the former ice skating area) on Friday, February 24, at 2pm.

Members of the Azkals as well as its booster group, the Kaholeros, will be in attendance. During the two-hour rally, the Kaholeros will teach the fans the cheers and beats of the songs and chants that have become a staple of Azkals matches. Prizes will be raffled away for lucky fans.

There will be a limited autograph signing session for the first 100 fans to register at the Global Pinoy Center (across the SM Mega Trade Hall in the fifth floor of Building B.

The Azkals line-up for February 29 against Malaysia
1. Eduard Sacapaño
2. Jason Sabio
3. Carli De Murga
4. Roel Gener
5. Roxy Dorlas
6. Ref Cuaresma
7. Lexton Moy
8. Emelio Caligdong
9. Juan Luis Guirado
10. Angel Guirado
11. Misagh Bahadoran
12. Phil Younghusband
13. Ian Araneta
14. Nate Burkey
15. Neil Etheridge
16. Ray Jonsson
17. Dennis Wolf
18. Jason De Jong
19. Bervic Italia
20. Oj Clarino
21. James Younghusband
22. Rob Gier
23. Marwin Angeles
24. Joshua Beloya
25. Nestor Margarse
26. Ruben Doctora
27. Paolo Pascual

No comments:

Post a Comment