Someone asked me how my blog and newspaper column came to be titled "Bleachers Brew". It's like this, it's an amalgam of sorts of two things: The bleachers area in the stadium/arena where I used to sit when I would watch baseball, football, and basketball games and Miles Davis' great jazz album Bitches Brew. That's how it got culled together. I originally planned on calling it "The View from the Big Chair" that is a nod to Tears For Fear's second album, Songs from the Big Chair. So there.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

NCR teams to PFF Suzuki U23 Cup bared

NCR teams to PFF Suzuki U23 Cup bared
by rick olivares

The National Capital Region Football Association announced the lineups to its two squads that will compete in the PFF Suzuki Under-23 National Cup quarterfinals that kick off simultaneously in Panaad Stadium, Bacolod and the University of the Philippines Los BaƱos, Laguna from May 6-10, 2011.

Two teams from Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao, and the NCR will compete in a single round robin affair where only the top two teams advance to the semifinals on May 15 and 16 at Barotac Nuevo, Iloilo.

NCR Team A will be coached by De La Salle University’s Hans Smit and Far Eastern University’s Rodolfo Alicante while NCR Team B will be handled by the University of the Philippines’ Anto Gonzales who himself is a former Azkal.

Curiously however, the players from both NCR teams mainly come from the UAAP and the Polytechnic University of the Philippines. And UP’s striker, Jinggoy Valmayor who was named Rookie of the Year in the last UAAP Men’s Football Tournament, was struck off the roster because of academics.

According to PFF President Mariano V. Araneta, it is hoped that the best players from this competition, sponsored by Suzuki Philippines, will complement the Under-23 National Team that will play in the Southeast Asian Games this coming November at Palembang, Indonesia.

Teams that have already secured a place in the quarterfinals include NCR Team A and NCR Team B; Bacolod which topped the Visayas Regionals and Iloilo; and Davao, whose two wins so far have guaranteed their spot in the next stage.

The Mindanao and Luzon Regionals wrap up today, Saturday, April 30.

NCR Team A (Bacolod)

Goalkeepers: Patrick Deyto, Ronnie Aguisanda

Defenders: Nathan Octavio, Deo Segunial, David Basa, Allan Serna, Miguel Montelibano

Midfielders: Stephen Permanes, Nathan Alquiros, Nikko Villa, Yannick Tuason, Gerard Pacquiao, Jay Eusebio, Ryan Lerio

Forwards: Ojay Clarino, Jesus Melliza, Don Rabaya

Coach: Hans Smit and Rodolfo Alicante

NCR Team B (Laguna)

Goalkeepers: Stephen Custodio Tyrone Caballes

Defenders: Gregory Norman Manzano Yang, Romnick Echin, Miguel Tuason, Rainier Perales, Kamanlee Suleiman

Midfielders: Michael Simms, Michael Mabanag, Enzo Bonoan, Mikko Manglapus, Jed Rances, Mateo Yuchico, Nazer Talento, Lester Madia, Dexter Chio,

Forwards Anton Amistoso Arturo Enriquez,

Coach: Anto Gonzales


  1. sir yung iloilo po ba sa laguna maglalaro?

  2. Hindi pa natin alam. We will find out early next week.

  3. sir do you still have game this coming may?

  4. Eusebio is playing again?